What would be the consequences using ²Toilets in a major airport we Frankfurt / Main instead of regular toilets? We performed a calculation and gained amazing insights.

The calculation basis

Based on public passenger and visitor data, it can be assumed that the average number of passengers per day are around 170,000. Everyone can figure out that this implicates a rather frequent toilet use.

In our calculation example, we assumed 100,000 toilet flushes per day. This is a rather modest estimate of just 0.6 usages / person. Given the average length of stay of several hours at an airport, an approach of 1.5 - 1.8 uses / guest would be more realistic.

The average amount of water in a commercial toilet is around 9 liters per flush, the consumption of the ²Toilet is 2 liters per flush. The costs for one cubic meter of drinking water including canal fees are set by a major buyer at 3 Euro / m³ (as for Germany).

Results

The 100,000 flushes result in a daily water consumption of 900,000 liters with conventional toilets and only 200,000 liters with 2 toilets. Extrapolated to the annual consumption we end up with 328,500 m³ compared to 73,000 m³ at the ²Toilet. This difference is a saving of 255,500 m³, ie more than 255 million liters of drinking water. And that's a very low-key estimation.

Considering the costs is equally memorable: The costs for drinking water consumption are reduced from just under one million Euros to € 0.22 million, which represents an annual saving of € 766,500. In contrast, the electricity costs incurred by the ²Toilet are negligible.

The savings resulting from lower personnel costs, less cleaning agents and facility personnel are a multiple of the water savings, as our research and calculations proof. If you are interested in this calculation, please contact us via the contact form.

Welche Folgen hätte der Einsatz von ²Toilet-WCs beispielsweise auf einem Großflughafen wir Frankfurt/Main? Wir haben ein Rechenexempel durchgeführt und dabei erstaunliche Erkenntnisse gewonnen.

Die Berechnungsbasis

Ausgehend von den Passagier- und Besucherdaten kann von einem durchschnittlichen Personenaufkommen von täglich rund 170.000 Personen ausgegangen werden. Jeder kann sich sich selbst ausrechnen, dass da die Toiletten recht häufig aufgesucht werden.

In unserem Rechenbeispiel sind wir von 100.000 WC-Spülungen pro Tag ausgegangen. Das ist eine eher zurückhaltende Einschätzung von nur 0,6 Nutzungen/Person. Bei der durchschnittlichen Verweildauer von mehreren Stunden auf einem Flughafen wäre hier ein Ansatz von 1,5 – 1,8 Nutzungen/Gast eher realistisch.

Bei jeder Spülung beträgt die durchschnittliche Wassermenge bei einem handelsüblichen WC rund 9 Liter, für den Verbrauch der ²Toilet fallen 2 Liter je Spülung an. Die Kosten für einen Kubikmeter Trinkwasser inkl. Kanalgebühr setzen wir bei einem Großabnehmer mit 3 Euro/m³ an.

Ergebnisse

Aus den 100.000 Spülungen ergibt sich ein täglicher Wasserverbrauch von 900.000 Litern mit konventionellen WCs und lediglich 200.000 Litern bei ²Toilets. Auf den Jahresverbrauch hochgerechnet sind das real 328.500 m³ gegenüber 73.000 m³ bei der ²Toilet. Ergibt eine Einsparung von 255.500 m³ Trinkwasser, also mehr als 255 Millionen Liter Trinkwasser. Und das ist eine sehr zurückhaltende Schätzung.

Die Kostenbetrachtung ist ebenso denkwürdig: Die Kosten für den Trinkwasserverbrauch reduzieren sich von knapp einer Million Euro auf € 0,22 Mio., was eine jährliche Einsparung von 766.500 € ausmacht. Demgegenüber sind die bei der ²Toilet anfallenden Stromkosten vernachlässigbar.

Die Einsparungen durch geringere Personalkosten, weniger Reinigungsmittel und Kontrollpersonal sind ein Vielfaches der Wasserersparnisse, wie unsere Recherchen und Kalkulationen zeigen. Bei Interesse an dieser Kalkulation melden Sie sich einfach über das Kontaktformular bei uns.